Plus ça change...

By SooB

Leader of the Pack

Mr B is in a lot of trouble for taking this. But then if he hadn't I wouldn't have a blip. So honours are even.

As you can probably see, today was spent filling the remaining crevices of the van with stuff. Including the last (heaviest) bit of the sofa which I managed to haul up the stairs before Mr B was awake, with Katherine's sterling help moving the cardboard when needed.

And at 3pm, as predicted, the buyers showed up, despite having been told not too. I was furious, but held it in check and was merely direct and firm, rather than rude and shouty. On the inside I was feeling very rude and shouty. They tell me that it is the law in France that you have a visit when the house is empty to have a tour and find out how everything works. If any folk who've bought a house in France have a view on this I'd be very interested - the 'visite vide' is not something I've ever heard of. So, reluctantly, we agreed they could come round tomorrow just before we all head off to the lawyers and that, aside from them insulting our estate agent and notaire, was that.

I'm now full of Mr B's tuna pasta (and some rather delightful local Carignan wine) and in a throwing out frenzy. I thought I'd feel more sentimental leaving this house. Maybe that will come tomorrow. Mostly I'm just on a high of excitement at finally getting on with things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.