a town called E.

By Eej

Ice storm ...


After snow, rain, snow again, a thunderstorm and then freezing rain I should not have been surprised at the mess we woke up to. The Beloved's place of employ had no power whatsoever, nor did most of the village it's located in. He came home. Half the area is powerless. Talk to me again about why this country feels the need to have pretty much all power cables above ground, by all means.

My day at work consisted of phonecalls, freak-outs, more phonecalls and coming down with a horrible, horrible headache.

I took squirrel photos this morning, but decided to go with a photo that shows a little bit of what an ice storm can do. The pines at Pioneer Cemetery, who are probably as old as they oldest stones there, did not at all take kindly to the weight of the ice on their branches. I walked around a little bit, as it was quite beautiful, but the amount of creaking combined with the gusts of wind and more snow on top of everything made me ... uhm ... uneasy.
Okay, I pretty much ran.
The idea of half a tree falling on my head is somehow unappealing. Crazy, eh?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.