nameiwantstaken

By nameiwantstaken

Bempton Cliffs

After a tasty bacon sandwich, it was time to set off to the spectacular seabird colony- RSPB Bempton Cliffs, near Flamborough. The life seen on the way to our destination was fantastic! We saw Two Red Kites, many Buzzards, several Rookeries, lots of gulls, rabbits, and Pheasants. We also passed lots of Pigs and Sheep.

We decided to go to nearby North Landing first, thanks to a tip off from @MJFlowers, who was right in telling me that the birds here were closer, other than Gannets, which only breed at Bempton, though we did see many fly by.

Then we left N. Landing to go to Bempton. The staff here have installed a camera focused on the cliffs, which can be viewed in the Visitor Centre.

We saw many Gannets, lots of Gullls, Kittiwakes, and Fulmars. We also saw a small group of 5 Razorbills, after a lot of squinting through our bins and scopes.

Just as we were setting back, I saw a chestnut brown shape peeping out from the tussocky grass on the cliff... A Weasel. It was so energetic and agile, running up and down the cliff side so nimbly, although I did see it trip up a few times! I decided not to get a picture, even though it was very close, I'd much rather watch it, then attempt to get a picture and only watch it through a viewfinder.

On the way back, we ended the day with some very nice Fish and Chips! :) I can't wait to go back soon, when more birds arrive!

P.S- I decided not to post a Gannet photo up, I thought I'd try and save that until the birds arrive in greater numbers, and begin to breed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.