Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Book Club

Two years ago, we were all downtown together. Dressed up and feeling sassy. The cowgirl boots were on. We were ready to eat good food, drink great wine, and catch up on one another's lives and books. I add 'books' because this is a book club. But actual 'book conversation' often tends to take a backseat to more pressing matters such as our families, our kids, the latest reality show, recent vacations and so on. But when we are all tuned into a really good book, I mean a GOOD ONE, then we will talk books.

When we finished dinner downtown, we decided to walk to a quaint little bar for a hot drink. You know the kind that the waiter lights on fire? And as we were entering the bar, our President (well I always refer to her as our President, 'cute sassy girl in the red scarf') stops, turns to all of us and says,

"Now aren't we all just a bunch of sassy sexy kittens??!!!!"

And there you have it. The birth of our book club name.

I feel very fortunate to have been introduced to this group of friends. They are all devoted Mother's and Wives. Each extremely active in their kid's lives. All strong and confident. And are happy to have a night out once a month with other friend's who share similar lives, interests and creativity.

My sister-in-law invited me to this book club about three years ago. I was honestly very touched because I had heard so much about these girls over the years and how much fun they all had together. But more importantly, it meant so much to me that she wanted to include me in this particular social circle of hers. Being 'sassy sexy kittens' together has deepened the bond that we share.

The girls were very welcoming. And I realized quickly that these were people who would become good friends of mine. And tonight, when they were gathered around the counter at my house, I knew right then and there that the 'sassy sexy kitten' club needed to be blipped. And I am so sad to say that there are several girls missing from the photo. A few that couldn't make it due to being out of town, etc. One of our friends had a really important test that she had to take the next day. So yes, they were very missed.

We sat around the dining room table and enjoyed my famous fish tacos. The only reason I say 'famous' is because that is the meal that is requested every time I host book club. And this is the third time that I have hosted. My husband said to me earlier in the day, "So what are you serving?" And I said, "Fish Tacos". And he said, "Fish Tacos? Didn't you make that last year? Why don't you do something different?" And I just laughed. How could I fully explain that I HAD to make fish tacos. The girls were counting on it!

This group means a lot to me. We see one another once a month. Sometimes less when and if someone has to miss a book club party. But months could go by with this group and it wouldn't even matter. Everyone is so warm and so welcoming that things just pick right up from where they last left off. So to my sister-in-law, thank you for this. Thank you for adding this wonderful and important piece to my life. Thank you for our great talks in the car every time we drive together to a different book club. I really enjoy those times. And I love that this is something that we can share together.

And to all of my fellow 'sassy sexy kittens'......I love you all. Will we be wearing t-shirts with our book club name and logo when we are 80 years old and still meeting once a month for books, food and wine? Oh who are we kidding, of course we will. Maybe our President will have a few good design ideas (she's kind of the Martha Stewart of the group).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.