Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

A 'Friends' Kind of Day

Yes, yes and YES! I adore this couple. Why might you ask?? Because they are awesome. Now that's not the right word....they are totally awesome. Yeah, that's better. I have taken a lot of 'couple' photographs over the year. It is kind of my thing I guess. I love to try and capture that moment. That emotional moment where the couple forgets about the camera, just for a split second. The moment where you see the true love and tenderness shine through the photograph. This is one of my favorite 'couples' photos because the warm and devoted feeling that is shining through is so very accurate with these two. They are so very much in love. They are one another's best friend. They can lean on one another in times that seem tough and celebrate one another day after day when life continues to bless them with such good fortune. And what makes each of them such special people are their smiles. They have a lot to smile about and I love them both.

Let me introduce one of my longest childhood friends and his beautiful wife. They are parents to a darling little two year old girl and are expecting their second child shortly. What a wonderful family for a new little darling to be born into. We did a little low key photo shoot this morning at our house. I used my 'studio' of course. The one room in our house that gets phenomenal light at almost any given time of the day. Our kids were so excited to have a little friend over. Within minutes, all of the baby dolls were out and the mini shopping cart was in full use. My photos of the two year old had to be creative and quick because she wanted to play. Not pose for a camera. But play. And who could blame her. We got some wonderful shots today. I am excited to finish up the editing so that they can see how the photos turned out. Our families spent the morning together. We were able to catch up and enjoy some tea, coffee and pastries. And solidify the plan that dinner will be served here when they are ready to get out and about after the birth of their little boy. We really enjoy this family, always have, and hope to see much more of them in the near future.

-------------

This afternoon, we went swimming. It was probably one of the coldest days of the year but we packed the suits and headed out to the heated indoor pool. We met another close family of ours and played in the water for several hours. The big twisty slide was the activity of choice. Our daughter finally got up the courage to go down with me the last time we were there and when we got to the top, they closed it suddenly and she never got her turn. So I reminded her of that this time and she said, "NO! NO SLIDE". And then quickly it changed to, "Yes. Yes slide. But with Daddy". So Daddy took her down the slide and She. Had. A. Ball. She loved it! Our son flies down the slide by himself now. He purposely flipped himself over and at one point, he came shooting out of it head first. He is a wild kid when it comes to high adrenaline sports. So with my daughter insisting on 'Daddy' and my son riding solo.......that meant that I got to ride solo this time. And did I ever. I pointed my toes and literally flew down that thing. I tried to give myself scores for style and grace. It was hilarious and so much fun. Our two families probably climbed the stairs to that slide maybe fifty times? Fifty, wow maybe not that many times, but who knows. It was a great way to spend a cold afternoon.

Afterwards, we all went to this new 'kiddy play date' style cafe. And it was very impressive. It was huge. It has this enormous kid play area with slides, ball shooting cannons, a dance floor, obstacle courses, and a huge area for parents to drink coffees, eat dinner, whatever. Our son was off in a flash. Having the time of his life. Our daughter was of course, a bit apprehensive. But she has always needed a warm up time. So we walked all around the play area with her and "NO", she did not want to go down the slide and then it was, "Okay, but with Mommy". Oh wow, she actually chose me this time. I took her down the slide and didn't realize how fast it was. We nearly flew through the netted wall at the bottom. My heart did stop for a split second. But that was all it took, she loved it. And she had to go with "MOMMY!" So we went up and down and up and down and up and down. Toward the end of the evening, she watched our friend's boy (younger than her) go down the slide all by himself. Next thing I knew, she gave herself a little push and zoom, down she went. And I swear she is so tiny and light, she caught a little bit of air. It did terrify me for a moment. She pretty much did a face plant at the bottom but was full of so much adrenaline that she jumped up and shouted, "I OKAY!!!". And then she went up and down and up and down and up and down. Finally I had to say, "Come on hon, it's time to go". "Two mo-a' (more)" she said. "Okay, two more". Then she paused and thought about it, "No, FIVE MO'.....six.......seven......eight.......NINE MO'-A" "How about two more." "Okay, two mo'-a" and she was off in a flash. A super busy day full of family and friends. How can you ask for anything more?!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.