A new day, a new dawn

I woke early and 'wired' and decided the best thing for it was to walk down to the beach with my camera and greet the sunrise. Good for the soul.

We had a family conference last night and it was too late to blip. I've back blipped yesterday if you're interested.

My family don't want me to return to Christchurch on my own. They are concerned about things at home which aren't sorted yet, the dust from dried liquefaction affecting my respiratory system, and my immediate well being as I cope with grief for my friend and the changed landscape of my city. That makes things sound more dramatic than I intend to convey but I understand their concern.

One of them will come back with me, probably my sister in law, Jude. (My brother intended coming but his workplace is running lean up here with other senior management required in Christchurch and he's required up here, hence a change of plan).

I'm working through when my work needs me, practical things I need either sorted before I get home or to take with me and when Jude can leave her work. Between us Jude and I are handy enough to do whatever a skilled tradesman doesn't need to do. Dad has a birthday mid-next next week (each one he reaches is significant) but they know I may miss that.

Today we combined a trip the dentist for Dad with getting the remainder of 'handy woman' supplies I'll need. Dad is hard to slow down (as he should) and is fashioning a couple of things I'll use to sure up and secure back home.

I spent a bit of time with a friend of Mum and Dad's who at 87 has spent 40 years involved with the Red Cross. What an amazing man John is. I'm about to start some baking to care for volunteers up here. He may have overrated my ability in the kitchen ;-)

So, a few things need to clarify and fall into place and then I can book to return home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.