North

A long day for me in the kitchen today baking and cooking. Later on I took a walk on the beach with my good friend J who came up from Auckland. The tide was out and a steady light rain continued.

We live in a wonderful land. See that second headland? Just around from there you can dig holes in the sand at low tide and enjoy hot thermal springs bubbling up from beneath. Or if you prefer the sanitised version the Waiwera Thermal Pools are metres down the road. Yes, the north of our land has an active thermal field with more still to the north and to the west and south of Auckland. We truly are on the Pacific Rim of Fire. A wonderful land but sometimes terrifying too.

I felt a little out of my depth baking. It's not that I can't bake, it's just I don't do it often. The pastry and chocolate chippy biscuit mix I made last night turned into biscuits and apple pie today. Mum's gentle presence in the background gave me confidence. Tomorrow the biscuits go to John the Red Cross volunteer to distribute to his hard working team. Apple pie is a favourite of Dad's. As it's his birthday this week I thought he'd enjoy a treat.

My sister in law Jude and I are booked to fly to Christchurch on Thursday. I confess to feeling apprehensive and a little scared. Unfortunately I miscalculated Dad's birthday. I thought I'd be here to celebrate it but it's on Thursday not Wednesday as I first thought. To achieve what we need to do Jude and I need to leave then.

Tiredness, grief and everything have caught up with me today. I feel some guilt because I'm away from Christchurch so work doubly hard to contribute from afar. It's time for me to take some rest so I can support my friends who have lost so much and have the strength to face what lies ahead.

We still wait for our young friend to come home.

Again I thank you all for looking and commenting. It truly helps and I am humbled by your support.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.