an itching in my thumbs

By itchythumbs

Green

I am so blessed.

I think it's easy, in day-to-day life, when things are not quite as you'd like them, to forget the big picture. The small picture in my life right now is that I am not particularly happy in Boston, for a number of reasons. Don't get me wrong, there are a lot of things I like about living here. But a move anywhere is difficult, especially in the winter.

Anyway, today, I had a short, completely unrelated conversation that made me remember how lucky I am. I have seen so many opportunities in such a short time - I am, compared to most people in the career world, very young. And I there is more stability in my future than I give credit to.

So even if the details are wrong - not quite the field I want to be in anymore, wrong city, none of my best friends in town - I can't deny the facts. I have enough to eat, a place to sleep, and even though the economy is terrible and I am, in fact, poor, I'm not so poor that I can't take care of the basics. So today I'm trying to refocus and be grateful for exactly that.

I am looking forward to the next couple months and what is to come - I am refocusing and letting go of all these negatives I've been carrying since the ride ended (yes, I'm still getting over that - breakups, especially from ideas instead of people, are a bitch). Something someone said a couple days ago here really resonated with me and has been my mantra the past couple of days.

"What is meant for you will not go by."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.