Living In The Valley

By CatbirdCottage

The Hawk Returns

I haven't seen my hawk in several weeks until today. It showed up and posed for several photos in the tree. In a few weeks it will be impossible to it see because of the leaves. I still think it is a Cooper's Hawk. If you haven't figured this out about me yet, I'll just about drop everything to try and photograph a hawk when it comes by. I just need to learn to photograph them a bit better :)

I did watch this one take off and fly after a little bird that had no business flying in the hawk zone... and I'm fairly sure it was able to escape this time. The domestic harmony of these hawks is a little fascinating. The female is of course the larger bird and she eats medium size birds.. so the male has to really be sure she is ready for courtship and a nest. Then I believe he does the majority of the food gathering for the youngsters... Due to its size, I think this is a female, but of course I'm terrible at identification so I could be wrong. haha

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.