Northern Exposure

By Northern

Out of my cage...

Phew... finally made it home from the hospital! Thanks SO much for all the good wishes whilst I was away, made all the difference.

Op went well and I now am several large masses of polyps lighter. I reckon they must have been crackers as I kept getting visits from doctors and students wanting to do case studies, felt a bit like being in a zoo but I managed to resist the temptation to tell them different stories.

SQUEAMISH? SKIP THIS BIT!!

Had a bit of difficulty when they took out the packing. My surgeon normally doesn't pack the cavities but due to the size of the polyps he had to. I had several dissolving packs in my sinus cavities but the ones like extra long tampons up my nose had to come out. Remember the descriptions you've heard of how the ancient Egyptians used to pull the pharoah's brains out through there noses before mummification, multiply by 10 and take away the convenient pain relief of being dead... and you've pretty much got the experience of haveing two very long pads extracted from your nose.

Normally this is just painful and uncomfortable. But of course i never do anything by half and I began to bleed rather dramatically. Blood everywhere, out my nose, running down the back of my throat, spattering all over me and the nurse... gruesome! And just for effect i start vomiting the blood out again. The staff were great and somehow I stayed calm throughout. The main thought that kept going through my head was that the doctor working to sort me out had wonderful sparkly silver shoes so she was probably my fairy godmother.

Until that is when she decided she was going to have to repack my left nostril... then she turned into the Wicked Witch of the East, with her spare slippers on. Bloody hell! That was dreadful. I am very glad I was unconscious the first time. Felt like having a poker rammed into my head, horrific. Thankfully she did it quickly and efficiently and the bleeding very quickly stopped. All of which left me on a drip and feeling very sorry for myself. But they looked after me well and the packing stayed in for a few days after which it came out with no fuss, little pain and no bleeding.

SQUEAMISH? COME BACK IN HERE.

They still weren't up for letting me go for a day or so, partly due to the fact that I was flying back from Aberdeen and partly due to me having become a fixture on the ward. But mainly due to the fact that they took very good care of me. I eventually escaped yesterday and I'm now taking it easy for the rest of the week... and getting used to the fact that air does actually flow up nostrils.

Plus of course trying out my tender reborn sense of smell on some fabulously fragrant and expensive chocolates. I think this may all have been worth it after all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.