Sunrise at the Beach

It was a cool 6C as I drove out of town and into the darkness of the country. There was a low fog just above ground level in low lying areas and to the east there was a slight tinge to the sky. I got to my destination before the sun was up and took some shots of the esturay, going from day break through the stages of soft pink, purple and then yellow.

Thinking about the sunrise I turned to see a red glow through the trees, I nearly missed it altogether after my distraction of the estuary. By the time I tramped through the pine trees and over the sand dunes the sun was up and into the cloud, which was so thick along the horizon - no chance of seeing Christchurch to the South or the Kaikoura ranges to the North. There were a couple of early morning surfers out for a ride, just having some fun as the waves weren't terriably big.

So after the early rise, I finally have my very first shot of Sunrise at the Beach :)

Running late today with everything, the supermarket was hopeless, narrow isles and being restocked on both sides, it was impossible to get the trolley down the isles, people everywhere! I complained - not normally a complaining type of person but Mum and I had had enough - I finished my shop across the road at the opposition! Had lunch out with Mum and took Daughter E to shop for silver shoes for the school formal. She has a small dainty foot and finding shoes is quite impossible so we're looking early.

A day which started quietly turned out to be a pickle - another day tomorrow.
I'll come back later, its now time for tea :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.