Northern Exposure

By Northern

Spring?

An uncanny springlike morning. Sun shining, mild, little wind. Birds like oystercatchers and curlews which return from the shore to nest in the fields around our house are starting to flock together. The grass is a shade greener.

Can't help feeling that it's too early and want to rush around telling the birds and the buds to hang on a few weeks cause the weather is likely to turn nasty and catch us all out.

I didn't. Instead I finally got round to planting out the bulbs that have been mouldering in the porch for the past few months. Not sure how well they'll do, or if they'll grow at all. But I thought they'd be better to rot in the ground than in a bag.

Other things are stirring in the relative warmth of the porch, like this little pelargonium cutting. Can't help but be pleased to see new leaves.

.......


Smell Diary

Still struggling to smell those big outside smells, my nose is definitely taking it's time to adapt to the cold air. But with a scarf wrapped around my head and my nose not far from the bulbs I was planting, the sweet smell as I broke through the crust of well rotted manure that we mulched everything with in the autumn into the damp crumbly soil beneath was another welcome sign of spring smells to come.

As was freshly toasted Hot Cross Buns.... yummm!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.