fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Marilyn's 80th!

I've blipped my dear friend Marilyn in the past...I've known her ever since I began working as a bus driver 35 years ago. She was gracious and friendly and immediately we bonded as buddies. We were partners in crime and mischief making those early years. Thirty years ago on her Fiftieth we arranged for one of her son's to leave a key out for us and we snuck into her home around 5am. We had a "one person" band instrument and sang Happy Birthday. We made a real sponge cake for her---one that had a real sponge inside of it --she could not cut through it and it was hilarious!

So today we a few of us took her out for her 80th for a luncheon tea party--much more subdued than thirty years ago but equally fun. She is a lovely person...her husband has Alzheimers and is in a specialized care facility where she visits him often. I love her. I was honored to treat her today to a special time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.