[blowfish]

By blowfish

islands

Last night Leah and I went on a walk in the eerily quiet Crestwood neighborhood behind our apartments. It gave us a chance to catch up (haven't seen her much this week on account of intense exams and studying) and give some love to our favorite rotund cow cat. I have named him Dave.

I spent all morning degreasing the tarry mess from my bike's rims and environs (fingerprinted about from my flurry of tube changes) and patching holes. Success. Now to ride out and find Dave for today's Blip. No success: apparently Dave only comes out at night (the afternoon heat is probably too much for his little bowling ball shaped kitty-frame). But there are these interesting oak tree islands that tower deep in this silent neighborhood (I dream of the Ents). I think it is neat that when they built this neighborhood decades ago they built the road around these old, great trees, encapsulating them in a stony barrier. Permanence is refreshing, especially in such decisions of yore. Or maybe I have it backwards: it is refreshing when today's developers leave a wise tree intact, perhaps that is more progressive in the battle against that which is regressive. It's all irrelevant anyways.

So, I am not entirely happy with this Blip, something about the scale is direly off (perhaps in a full-screen, higher resolution shot the grandness would come out...although, perhaps not--the vertical/portrait shot was even claustrophobically worse). Ah well. But I kept riding after this, fueled by the great floods of coffee I've been neglecting the last few days. From famine to feast, like tides around an island. Or whatever.

This is all terribly boring, I've just realized.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.