Photofabulous!!

By Ilaria

A Goldfinch enjoying lunch....

Well....had a great day today!! Went out to Lochwinnoch RSPB, joined the RSPB, and sat in their bird hide entranced at the birds coming to their feeders!! Just AMAZING!! For those of you who know all about birds, this is probably a bit laughable, but being new to this, I could have stayed there for hours!! :-)))

There were other people there too...hence how I could so easily identify this little bird!! I simply asked!!! LOL!! But I did buy a couple of books!!

To be honest, I felt a bit embarrassed...there they were with their DSLR's, and AT LEAST 300mm lenses, and I bring out my little compact!! They say size isn't everything(!!), but I wasn't so sure today!! A very kind and chatty lady informed me that I wouldn't have much luck with "that"!!!!!! I don't think she meant this to be unkind!! Just a bit TOO honest!! Obviously a better camera, would give better results!! Although...small IS beautiful!!! Ha Ha!!

Not sure if that knocked my confidence a bit, but a lot of my shots were not as good or sharp as usual!! I took a lot of the birds at the feeders! The said lady announced, after I had taken tons of shots..."I don't like shots of them at the feeders!!" Even writing this, I'm grinning....and my collegues say I'm about as subtle as a brick in the teeth!!! LOL!!!! I clearly have competition!!

Anyway...upon examining my shots, I was inclined to agree with her, so cropped this shot to within an inch of it's life!!! Lol!! All a learning curve!!

Despite all of this...it wasn't too bad a shot, and DEFINETELY a gorgeous bird!!

NEXT TIME.....I'm taking ear plugs!!!! Lol!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.