a town called E.

By Eej

Fear and mocking on the tracks

I don't know what it's called but I have a fear of walking on/over things that I can see through. Those metal stairs, with the holes in it, make my stomach turn. Glass tiled floors (I seem to recall that the Musee D'Orsay in Paris has 'm) make me weep quietly on the inside. I can 'do' them, but I have to hold a railing of some sort. Or crawl.
The train tracks in town that I love so much are divided into two parts ... at least they are when you are like me and can't cross the little bridge in the middle that consists only of railroads spikes. I've tried crossing it a few times and it's usually two steps, then I see the water beneath me and I freeze.

But today I thought I might be able to do it.

I had the grumps most of the morning (because Maple Island was closed AGAIN! *grumblegrumble*) and I figured some adrenaline would do me good.
And I did it. Granted, it wasn't pretty.
On the way back the Beloved had to come pick me up because I decided a slow crawl would work fine too. And there was mockery.
Oodles and oodles of mockery*. And then there was a severe beatdown in retribution. *rubs bruised fists*
But I did it.
GO, me :)





* I took this photo in a rare unmocking moment. It's a good thing I love the man to pieces.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.