Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Orchids

My mother-in-law is 87 and has been widowed since July 2007. Mr. Fun stops into see her every week and is quite concerned that she lives in a big house all by herself. She is adamant that she is not about to leave there for any other place. He thinks she would be happy in a residential place that offers lots of activities, meals, and companionship. Like Mr. Fun, she knows no strangers. She talks with everyone and in her big old house, she is quite lonely. Because she and my father-in-law built the house years ago, she is determined to stay there. She still drives (which is scary) and gets out about once a week.

The other day Mr. Fun visited his mom and she sent home a lovely bouquet for me. This is just one of the orchids included in the vase that he brought from her place. She has grown these and I think they are beautiful.

She is also determined to give away as much of her belongings as possible, so she sent these orchids to me in a vase I had purchased for her when I was traveling in Russia several years ago.


This has been an uneventful day as I have worked with student papers and emailing students most of the day. Sometimes I wonder if I will ever get caught-up on reading and marking their essays, but eventually I do.

Tomorrow will be a very special day -- Easter Sunday.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.