Copper Bottomed

Just couldn't keep away. A new sail to hoist aloft. Which I did. And what a fine day it was down there.
Depressed to read in the Observer about the never ending allure of nationalism in Ireland to young people and the implications for any lasting cross community peace in the North. Understandable, I guess. Ho hum. The end game isn't a bloody nirvana - it's just a country (or administration, indeed) that has the power to vary VAT. Same here in Scotland. All flag and nae knickers. As Conor Cruise O'Brien said some decades back, a united Ireland isn't even worth a broken arm. Mind you, the UK can fair piss you off (that's balance from me fer yers).
Saddo that I am, I did laff at this though. You've probably all seen it. God bless you all. And happy easter!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.