A Frosty Start

There was sunshine and blue skies but no wind when I made a sortie out early this morning, but it had been cold enough overnight for frost to be lying on the grass of the Meadows and the verges up by the Braids.

I made a detour by Blackford Pond on my way home to find mist billowing up dramatically from the surface in to the cold air.

A light dusting and general tidying accomplished, and his lordship away with his customary Wednesday bonhomie to the hills of Biggar with his 'Last of the Summer Wine' accomplices, I was out to be entertained for coffee by my friend of m.t's.

As usual we put the world to rights and caught up with all the latest news and petty misdemeanours of our better halves.

I discovered on the way home that a cold breeze has sprung up from nowhere and it was a much chillier day than I had anticipated from my earlier reconnoitre.
However there are still some hardy souls ensconced on the grass outside. Perhaps if you lie flat, the breeze misses you.

After a bit of sustenance, I am out again to visit a school friend that I only see sporadically. But the great thing about school friends is that however seldom you see them, it is possible to take up where you left off, because you have so much in common from a shared past. It will be an afternoon of reminiscences, I'm sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.