Northern Exposure

By Northern

To the rescue... nearly

Our heating engineer finally managed to get here today.

He got the boiler (which is outside??!!??) going and then was engulfed in plumes of black smoke. He reckoned it just needed a good clean out and persevered in driving rain and wind to try and sort it out. He toiled away for about an hour, it was getting dark.

I managed to convince him that we would survive without it for another night and made him go home.

Sometimes you can be too dedicated to your work.

He'll be back tomorrow. I do hope the weather is more like yesterday for him.



Smell Diary


Got to enjoy the smell of thick, black burning oil smoke. Which was far more pleasant than I thought. My nose seems to be coping with the low temperatures with few problems now, still a little bit tender but the 'hole in my head' sensation has more or less gone. And I don't go around wearing a scarf wrapped around my head looking like a ninja.

Managed to attract a few odd looks in the co-op today by sniffing all the fruit. I never bought anything, just enjoyed the smells and marveled at the total lack of aroma from a box of far travelled strawberries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.