Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Mother's Day

Juggling the boys like this on the altar upon which all the mothers were gathered for prayer and to receive a carnation from the priest was a bit of a challenge, with feeding tube in tow and Callum insisting on pulling down my dress and showing the congregation my bra or either of them trying to eat the plants on the altar.

Thanks for giving me a special time for Mother's Day Saint Monica's. You are indeed a place of great solace. And thanks to the kind parishioner for taking this. There are some days when I really want an image of us all together such as this, carrying all 70lbs of them.

We went on to enjoy their complimentary cakes and coffee outside before heading to the park and sand pit facing the church, then PF Changs for lunch and a little glass of champagne. So many families out celebrating today. Rather lovely. I hope one day to get to the stage when I might enjoy a cup of tea or juice in bed with some flowers in the morning, just like Mum would have. That'd be nice. I always felt so special for Mum on Mother's Day. But sweetly, after many "Happy birthdays" the boys came round to saying "Happy mother's day".

Reu sits at the restaurant and reads word after word I'm writing for him. I love how I can fingerspell (he's an accomplished signer) or write words and he can read both my signed letters and written words now numbering just shy of 100.

Techy - Here the pavement outside the church acts as a natural reflector to make our eyes very bright, as otherwise untouched. I love transitional light such as this, even if this became a devil to edit and I ended up settling on the highlights and recovery as they were because it's 8pm and I'm dying for my bed. I took Callum in with me tonight to snuggle with as my treat...

Backblipped yesterday's wedding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.