Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Two and a half

My sweet little baby boy.

How did you get to be two and a half?

I did a little series for him this morning to mark the milestone and I'll post a link. He's achingly lovely in them.

Today I say Happy Birthday to our friend sweet Preston who's 4 whose sister is a friend in CHARGE. Today was the day 4 years ago I discovered Reuben had CHARGE, aged one week and it became a very tough day. I met his parents at the CHARGE conference in an elevator, craddling baby Preston and mum Kristi came to become one of the most extraordinarily courageous, knowledgeable, bright, intelligent, beautiful and optimistic people I could ever hope to meet. I'm privileged to call her my friend and to have enjoyed these years of her living relatively close.

Knowing later that year that it was the day of Preston's birth changed that feeling for me of May 9th for me. It became one to celebrate.

I've had a morning with Callum on the Santa Monica Bluffs overlooking the ocean where this was taken, brunch at Whole Foods, a quick park trip, picked Reuben up and home to do puzzles, words and books.

I'm still to post Reuben's 4th birthday post...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.