Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

A bountiful trade

I'll often get asked if I do trade for a shoot and my response of late has been, if it's of professional benefit to me since I don't require portfolio work for my career, but especially if it's of benefit to my family. So in the last year I've had not only the most amazing pirate birthday cake with floating cupcake rafts, but also a vegetable patch.

For the latter, my neighbor kindly dug the soil, bought the little plants, planted and nurtured them in their early days. A few weeks later, new plants began to grow and not being so knowledgeable in the gardening business, I asked him if they were weeds. To my great surprise, there were not only the juiciest mangetout which I can harvest daily, enjoying munching on them on the drive to school, but from seeds which must have been incorporated in the soil, tomatoes and this incredible sunflower which explodes with colour. To have watched it grow daily has been a wonderful thing and I'm tempted to replace the front lawn with an entire meadow of sunflowers given they required absolutely no attention from me whatsoever!

After school, I went for an interview with a leading model and talent agency in Hollywood and I'm delighted I got the job! Can't wait to start shooting young adult actors and models this week for commercial work in Hollywood, print and commercials. For anyone who's aware of recent events in my life after the pain of Reuben's surgery, this is rather good news! Smiling...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.