Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Parrotus Rex

"The moment you think you understand a great work of art, it's dead for you."

- Oscar Wilde

This particular piece of art is a king parrot drawn by my daughter. 8) I took a photo during the day: of a cellphone tower rising out of some trees. This was better. 8)

I also got an idea, and after dinner tried to implement it. The idea was to use my tripod to position my camera looking straight down the eyepiece of my telescope (with or without the lens/eyepiece actually in) in an attempt to make use of the telescope's 150 mm aperture. It was fail. I then just used the camera on the tripos to take some pictures of the Southern Cross and Milky Way, and of Scorpius over the trees. They looked good on the LCD, and one was going to be my blip ... But unfortunately I had focused on infinity, and apparently the stars are closer than that. Or to put it another way, my camera can focus farther away than the stars.

Apparently.

In any case, they were all out of focus, and a big ol' bag of fail.

But that's ok; I've simply reverted to my daughter's king parrot, which I think is great. 8)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.