secret garden

By freespiral

Past life

My favourite day of the week - only an hour's work then I'm footloose and fancy free! Grey and muggy to start with but  a brisk walking bus. We walk along a tiny lane and at the moment it is so green and lush and just full of flowers - very educational too, as my small crew are learning all the names. We arrive breathless, smallest one likes to skip the whole way, but energised.

I had a useful morning ploughing through the 'to do' list:
make hair appointment  
make NCT appointment - nothing to do with childbirth here but Irish name for MOT!!  
check my car insurance covers taking children as passengers (it does)
take another set of cards down to Post Office
sort out card reprints

The sun has come out but it's very blowy -actually rather pleasant. I stopped off at various places on my way home and a spot of trespass was indulged in. This is totally as I found it - an old metal jug, rusty and forgotten,  at the entrance to a little derelict barn. Part of this abandoned house, my all time favourite place of trespass.

A ps on Bantry House - no I don't live there!!!! I wish! it was given to the White family, who later became Earls of Bantry, as a thank you for warning the English against a French/Irish rebellion. The descendents still live there and it's very much a wonderfully eccentric family home. They do a b&b too :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.