Down by the Quay

Cold, grey and wet - the forecast assured us there would be sun - seriously wrong. It's been a day of bagging cards and catching up with indoor jobs. We were feeling a bit stir crazy and went out for a walk nonetheless - a quick yomp around the circuit. A fishing boat was going out with lobster pots and the reflections were nice down by the quay.

Track 2 - Greensleeves, here sung by Loreena McKennit in a suitably spine tingly way. This piece of music seems to have bobbed along quietly and comfortingly beside me for most of my life, occasionally leaping to the for. I remember having to learn it on my recorder when I was little; scrutinising the lyrics and connotations when the Tudors were (frequently) being studied; and listening to my class perform it at my leaving service in England. It never fails to delight - so English but here sung by a Canadian with Irish roots. Supposedly written by King Henry VIII  when he was still the golden boy.
And two new converts to Nirvana - Lady Marchmont and my brother Patroclus, who hadn't encountered them before! I'm enjoying this, but also like Kendall's idea that 10 books should be recommended and one piece of music.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.