Forty Shades of Green - and some

I close my eyes and picture the emerald of the sea
From the fishing boats at Dingle to the shores of Donaghadee
I miss the river Shannon and the folks at Skibbereen
The moorlands and the meadows with their forty shades of green
But most of all I miss a girl in Tipperary town
And most of all I miss her lips as soft as eiderdown
Again I want to see and do the things we've done and seen
Where the breeze is sweet as Shalimar and there's forty shades of green


I was sure the 40 shades of green was attributed to WB Yeats but no, it's Johnny Cash! Apparently there's a bit of a controversy as to whether he actually made up the phrase or  locals had been using it for years.

It is looking incredibly green at the moment - there is of course a reason for it! The gorse is in full bloom too as are the buttercups. I just love this view - the little house tucked so neatly into it surroundings is of course empty but not ruined and could easily become a very pleasant home. A small trespass has been undertaken where I got ripped to shreds by brambles.

The dress has been purchased! It's lovely and very comfortable. Rather amusingly,the owner of the shop told me that, not only has she had three wedding guests desperately looking for vintage garments, but the bride herself has also been in. Unhappy with her bolero, she has her eye on a magnificent feathery confection. I also got some sneaky preview information about her dress- 30s and she's having hair and makeup to match.

We went to see The Great Gatsby last night - very odd and disappointing, all glitz and no substance but maybe the same could be said about the book. Discuss.

Forty Shades of Green

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.