One Street: Perfect Calm

Awake at 6.45 am, sun shining, birds tweeting and I was off round the circuit. Amazing colours everywhere and so calm, not even the fishermen were conflabbing. The boats in the quay looked so jaunty and bright.

The quest for the vintage dress goes on. I took Chaiselongue's advice and dug out two original 70s dresses of my own that I've kept, for I love the fabrics. My mother made them for me. I would buy the material, draw a design and she would somehow come up with the goods. One of them - long and flowy, had detachable puff sleeves which always caused a bit of a stir. I always felt like Ophelia in it. Well I'm no longer 20 so the hunt goes on. I tried the second posh second hand clothes shop in Bantry. Hanging in a plastic cover was the perfect dress!! Black, 20s, sophisticated (!) but .... and there's always a but .... it had been put aside for my friend Hannah who is also going to the wedding. She will be trying it on at this very moment and of course has first choice. I tried bribery and corruption to no avail. The lady in the shop was very helpful and very forthright in her assessments - she found me another dress, black satiny, spaghetti straps full skirt, 50s. It looked okay but I was a bit concerned about less than toned arms; she was more concerned about less than ample cleavage and recommended chicken fillets!!! I told her I was a vegetarian. I don't think I was meant to eat them. A white feathery stole thing was also brought which hid a multitude of sins and looked very glam but I'm not sure this was me. I also had to confess to never wearing high heels - well no heels at all, which also caused a certain amount of concern. She worked very hard. I hope Hannah doesn't want that dress.

Oh, and this is a One Street contribution, I haven't done one of these for ages

Edit: the dress is mine!!! Hannah chose a different one. The relief!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.