Nasturtium

The weather has turned dull, grey and damp but the nasturtiums are rampant and fiery. A bit of tweaking has occured but they are really astonishing oranges and reds.

Himself has been under the bath for most of the day wrestling with taps and pipes. I am a self confessed bath addict and can become very grumpy if I don't get a daily soak and the water was coming out of the taps at a very sorry trickle. The day is not satisfactorily completed unless I can enjoy a soak in something smelly, accompanied by candles and valerian tea. The water is now gushing forth so all is well.

I have been thinking about music thanks to Mollyblobs s who has been trying to get together a playlist for their street party celebrating Her Madge's jubilee. There won't be any street parties this end but it's always good to reflect on music and what and why something is special. I think I might do a desert island disc things - done before I know by Trials and Tribulations and others, but I missed it then. So I shall attempt to select 10 pieces of music, a book and a luxury should I be whisked away unexpectdly.

Track 1 - Come as You Are by Nirvana. I first heard this when we were on a family holiday in darkest Kerry. Son number 2 had brought a tape of Unplugged in New York with him and was playing it one evening. It stopped me in my tracks. Those opening bars, the lyrics and the eventually the sad prophecy of it all. They were so good. On an island you could play this as loud as you liked, sing along and jump around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.