Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Clean Windows

Hard choices today. Saw a (one) very nice morel mushroom on my walk this am. Windy. Took a break from washing windows midday to walk the beach at a zero tide - looking for moonsnails but only saw one egg case. Had a pretty good red sea cucumber and lots of very low tide seaweeds,(I'll get a better picture next time!) but think I'm going with the clean glass, as one day a year it seems so much brighter inside-I do love it! My kitchen window looking out back with the reflection of the north view from the window at my back 24 ft away.(2 trees in front, utensils hanging in the kitchen.) The just washed hand blown glasses are glass artist Dante Marioni's (his family has a small island nearby. I'm afraid to drink out of them but like to look at them)) and the handmade tile is Quentin Bell's. (Quentin is the painter Vanessa Bell's son. Vanessa Bell is Virginia Woolf's sister -they lived in a very wonderful, inspiring farmhouse, called Charleston, beginning in 1916 in East Sussex, England that can be visited today. It was a meeting place for Bloomsbury artists and writers and inspiration for my painting business: walls, floors, furniture, dishes, were all painted. I like the attitude that it all wasn't so precious. -) Enough work and musings for one day...

Tomorrow we have friends coming to work for the weekend -it's Victoria Day holiday weekend here in Canada -we'll raise a glass to the Queen!

OOps, I had to change this - it came to me a day later !! that I mispoke! the name of the tile maker is Quentin Bell, not Duncan Grant...duh!! Duncan lived there too and was Vanessa's daughter Angelica's father - but that is another story!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.