Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Cenotaph Fly-past, Harrogate

I didn't intend to have such a sombre blip today, but this image has to win out on the grounds that if I tried to reproduce it, I never ever would.

Just as I took the picture, I had a sense that a pigeon had flown past, and I wondered if it had got in frame, 'spoiling' it. I took another with no pigeon, just to be sure.

When I came to look at my pictures from the day, the alignment of the pigeon with the dove on the relief-carved memorial was uncanny, and I knew I had found my blip.

I haven't been able to find out much about the carving on the memorial, so any explanation on the symbolism would be appreciated.

Thanks to @traceymadden who has pointed out that this is Victory, and providing some links to further information. This carved relief is the work of Gilbert Ledward, whose most famous work is the Guards memorial in St. James' Park. The symbolism associated with the use of Victory and the down-pointed sword/cross is discussed here.


at the cenotaph ~ a peace dove ~ flies past ~ breath ~ of a ghost

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.