What a Grey Day

At the end of May, a cold grey day with increasing wind and threatening rain, doesn't exactly hit the spot, does it?
As I sit here at the computer and watch people passing outside the windows, well wrapped up, it could pass for October or November.

My blip of yet another view of Edinburgh castle against a leaden sky says it all.

Perhaps the tourists from hot sunny places find this monotone atmospheric, happy in the knowledge that they can return to colour and warmth. But to me it's a trifle depressing knowing that in less than a month, the nights will be drawing in again.
It's a less than cheery thought . My cup is half empty today.

But last night was a happy one. I met three friends for a pizza and all my week of eating salads and smaller helpings were for nothing as a result. Add to that two glasses of red wine and my fall from grace was complete. I blame Orange and its Wednesday offer of buy one get one free which always appeals to cyclists.
But in the end, the chat was worth the sacrifice

His Lordship on his return from the moors of goodness knows where, as he himself hasn't yet discovered exactly where he was, took umbrage with my photo of his 'open door day' study. Apparently he could have done much better.
Of course he could have, it goes without saying. It's a case of 'plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose'.

When I inadvertently commented to him that I was struggling with what to write today, he said " well you can start by apologising for that picture".
Don't you just love it when they neglect to sugar the pill?

So I hereby apologise for yesterday's blip and who knows, next Wednesday I'll do a re-blip, warts and all. You'll love it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.