earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Badger Stone

I had a blip wrapped up (taken this morning) which had no trace of any green hue whatsoever, but this evening was another which enjoyed the most pure and crystalline light so there was really no choice but to head out for another run on the moor. The knee, which has been causing me problems recently, seems to be fine. It feels fantastic to have won this freedom back. Tonight I felt like a runner for the first time in ages!

I decided to head out across to the Badger Stone and enjoy the solitude which is almost guaranteed on top of the moor in the evening. The light was perfect, so this won the vote as today's blip as I'm unlikely to ever get a better picture of one of Ilkley Moor's most inconic landmarks.

The markings here supposedly date back to the Bronze Age, so I guess we're talking 4 to 5,000 years ago. It's a special place. This is a view looking north towards Round Hill and the moors on the other side of the Wharfe Valley. Ilkley is nestled in that valley, out of sight.

Thanks everyone for all the encouragement over yesterday's blip. I now know that I don't need to be afraid to play, and that anything goes. I ran past the same spot again today and it's hard to imagine many people taking a picture of what is essentially just a bit of damp waste ground. But it has such a rich diversity of different plants. Might have to try another from a different angle at some point. Anyway, much appreciate the feedback. This is such a lovely place to hang out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.