Forward planning

That's what's needed in many circumstances.
For example,

1) when nipping out for a break at lunchtime, forward planning would have been useful in terms of wearing shoes that were waterproof and maybe even considering a wetsuit or galoshes. I have never seen rain like it - so much, in such a short space of time. The final insult - the Boss standing in the front office watching me and my two colleagues running back inside. Shoes, socks and jacket were kept on the radiator in my office all afternoon. I was damp!

2) when planning for retirement (I kid you not) - talk from the Pensions man this afternoon. Insightful. Potential for panic, but realism kicked in - there are probably going to be further reforms before I even get to an age where I can consider early retirement. So I'll not panic yet. However, I am going to engage in some financial planning to make sure we are secure!

3) when driving home on a busy and wet motorway, forward planning is what the Romanian lorry driver should have considered TWICE when he unceremoniously pulled out on me, with no indication and no room. Fortunately, I HAD engaged in a bit of forward thinking and had anticipated that he might do it the second time round. The chap behind me hadn't though and he looked terrified as he screamed to a halt just behind me.

4) when planning for your future. Or more importantly, James' future.

As we left the supermarket this evening he asked
"Do I have to leave home when I go to university" (Bear in mind that he only starts high school in September!)
What ensued was a long, in-depth conversation that would have been more akin to a mother and an 18 year old son, with considerations such as which university (Manchester or Liverpool will be best, so he can get the train apparently), whether to leave home or to stay home and contribute etc. In the end, he decided that he was going to Manchester uni, staying at home, will contribute to shopping and bills, help around the house and do the shopping for me.

It was difficult not to smile, whilst inside I was wrestling with pride in his maturity and long term goals and the anguish of knowing that one day he will grow up and leave home. He is going to be a hard act to follow!

All in all, a good day. Topped off with Pizza, garlic bread and snuggles on the sofa. Oh, and a very very happy Grandma who sounded positively gleeful with how good her new kitchen taps are - Corin fitted them yesterday.

The photo - I think James might have been demonstrating how French Bread can be used as a weapon, particularly in the aisles of the supermarket when people get in the way!

NB - the THREE bottles of wine are organised as follows - a white and a red for cooking, and a nice bottle of Malbec for this evening!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.