No Static

By nostatic

Rough Trade

Even this cash-in live album from The Smiths has one of their trademark iconic covers, in this case it stars the actress Alexandra Bastedo. I think you'll agree her face sits pretty well on a battered old t-shirt. As my Gran used to say a bonnie face suits anything.

What to say about Rough Trade? A label that has inspired bands across a number of decades, with The Smiths in the 80's and The Strokes, The Libertines and Arcade Fire in the late 90's/early 00's. Even if you don't like the artists mentioned you have to acknowledge that their influence still looms large across the current indie scene. The label is even home to my beloved Belle & Sebastian these days. The record shop that spawned the label is also pretty damned tasty. Geoff Travis, I salute you.

Everyone has their favourite song by The Smiths and often it changes dependent on mood, but if I was pushed I'd go with this as their finest moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.