TeeJay

By TeeJay

Water

It struck me this afternoon that with all the rain we've had there should be some good waterfalls about, so I took a drive up the Matakitaki River. Came across a few in creeks full spate, and therefore waterfalls with far more water in them than usual, but had not thought to grab my tripod when I headed out so didn't really get any decent captures.

This is a very dark little gully where the water falls over enormous rocks. (It's important because it's name is Johnson's Creek - my name, although it has absolutely nothing to do with any heritage of mine.) Whenever I've taken photos of it in the past I've not been happy because the rock the top water falls over is (naturally) not straight, but it looks like it is man made because of how smooth the lip has become over the years, so it always seems as if my photo is crooked. Today I've blocked that out with the bush - so I'm not as annyoed by the look of it.

The torrent at the bottom goes through a culvert under the road and where it comes out the other side it is also a raging torrent today, taking up the full path of the creek. However in summer, when the creek is just a trickle there are lovely shelves to be seen, covered in beech leaves and looking very pretty - as can be seen in this blip of Kiwilizzie'sfrom last November. Today there is only water where all the colourful leaves were.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.