All that is beautiful

By sharob

Writing Practise

Ever since Clara was young, she's been fascinated with letters. I have video of her at 18 months old, pointing at letters in response to me saying 'Show me C C Clara', she could point to the letters C, M and D. Amazing. Her love for letters has continued and by the age of 2 and a half, she could clearly write her name. She turned 4 in March just gone, she has, at least for the last year been able to name letters at random, and has been able to write 20 of the letters of the alphabet.

Around 2 months ago, she asked me to teach her to read. I asked the opinion of some friends who mostly told me not to teach her as I'd hinder her education. With a handful of supportive friends (including a headmistress and a primary school teacher) and the internet for research, I've started teaching her the high frequency reception words. I haven't 'read' with her for some weeks now, but she always points out the words which she recognises. Today, I thought it was time I spent some time with her, she read this sentence 'I like my dad to play', without any hesitation at all. We only learned play in the last few minutes of our last session.

I do love to tell people about her, but I always get the impression that my friends don't like to hear about her, so I tend not to talk her up too often but I am so incredibly proud of her. At nursery, she is always praised for her fantastic detail in drawings, she's definitely a talented little girl. I hope that she always knows how proud I am of her.

The picture is of her and Daddy playing with her polly pocket toys.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.