earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Bottomless

When one (and then two!) of my blips hit the spotlight page the other week I really thought that had been my little fifteen minutes of fame. It was exciting and lovely, and I enjoyed every minute of basking in the limelight, but I had no great expectation that it would happen again soon. That first blip was a fluke, a matter of being in the right place at the right time with the right idea.

And then yesterday happened!

I was a little disingenuous in my write-up, for I knew it was more than just a pretty good blip. I think, if we're honest, we all know when we've captured something a bit special. There is a tremendous thrill when you first see the image on the screen and realise its potential. And then the deeper thrill which comes of looking forward to sharing it with your peers, especially those with whom you have a bit of banter and friendly competition! It's a real buzz. So, it's wonderful to have to thank you all again, those who commented and starred and hearted my diamantine blip out of the gutter. You're all stars!

In case anyone was wondering, although it's tempting to spin a great story, the capturing of the image didn't involve any great pyrotechnics. Sadly, it wasn't taken one-handed while dangling from a drainpipe. I have a balcony in the roof space of my terrace house so the gutters are at foot level. Perhaps I shouldn't have admitted that.

So back to work today and a return to the canal. After a windy weekend there was hardly a breath of breeze this morning, and the light was implacably clear. Cue a reflection.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.