a town called E.

By Eej

The Patient II

Two Harley photos in a row. And this is the longest write-up I've ever done so I don't blame anyone for not reading it.

The patient was not doing much better this morning, but I had to go to work. Zeb, our 18 lbs (moderate estimate) moose has decided Harley needs company. I've caught him several times on her pillow, which wouldn't be too bad if he left room for her. All 7 pounds of her. Three times I caught him actually mostly ON her. So, I decided that in my absence she'd be by herself. Two cats in the sunroom, and two outside.
Except Zeb didn't want to go into the sunroom. Even though he sleeps there for hours on end during the day.
What followed was unpretty: me yelling, him howling, both of us running up and down the stairs.

I was 15 minutes late for work, but the timeclock says I worked 80. I told my boss two times something is wrong with the damn thing.

An agent for an insurance company (I won't name names) came for the annual talk and brought lunch for everyone. Well, for everyone who isn't a vegetarian, that is. I watched while everyone ate meaty pizzas. She then proceeded to tell us the most horrible accident stories about people without accident coverage. Car crashes, dog bites, crushed-thumb-stuck-in-machines, the lot. And some stories that were so personal I cringed. Sharing the tale of the genetic defects in two of your children that caused their death before their first birthday with a bunch of complete strangers just to get them to sign up is completely inappropriate. Oh, and did I mention one of my co-workers is pregnant? "I probably shouldn't tell this story", the agent started it with. If that thought even crosses your mind, you need to shut up! I regret not speaking up but I was just stunned.

After that my worry for Harley was all consuming and I went home. She had her eyes open and did a little 'meep' when I touched her. Not bad. I gave her some food. She ate it. I squished about 5 ml of water in her. She purred. Looked a little more alert. I called the vet with an update. Chased Zeb away from being on top of her again.

I figured some quality time with the mommy would be beneficial so I took her into the bedroom and put her on my lap. To my surprise she wanted to climb up to her favourite spot in my neck, and then she started to knead. And purr. Which was encouraging to say the least :)
Around 8 I fed everyone. I put Harley down expecting her to go to her pillow, but she went to the litterbox and came out again (yesterday and the day before she decided to lay down in it) She then had her dinner in the kitchen like she normally does (but still ate less) and afterwards she hauled her skinny butt back to the bedroom where she decided to explore the closet. I told her that wasn't a good idea. Then she went and sat in the middle of the livingroom for a bit before retreating back to the pillow and giving herself a quick wash. It may not be massive progress but I think I have grounds to be cautiously optimistic.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.