Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Pound of Flesh - Plus a Dollar

"Why, this bond is forfeit;
And lawfully by this the Jew may claim
A pound of flesh, to be by him cut off
Nearest the merchant's heart. Be merciful.
Take thrice thy money; bid me tear the bond."


- Portia (in The Merchant of Venice, by William Shakespeare)

Just make sure it's a pound of flesh plus a dollar. I was struck by this sign as I was walking to the station this evening. It was proclaiming double parking to be prohibited, and then displaying the penalty: a fine of the to my mind bizarre amount of two hundred *and one* dollars. As though that extra dollar might just tip people over the edge into not double-parking. Or something. Odd, I thought.

I took this with my wife's Fuji FinePix z20fd. In Photogene on my iPad I desaturated it, raised the exposure, lightened shadows, denoised a bit, and added a little inverse S curve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.