Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Book Clubbin'

Tonight we had book club at my sister in-law's house. It was a nice small group. Small enough that we could all sit around the kitchen table and just talk, eat and sip red wine. We had some goody stories going and of course some hilarious ones (thanks largely to our secretary/President). Oh she really is one of the funniest people that I know.

So I got home from book club realizing that I didn't take any pictures over there as I had intended to. I just got too wrapped up in the zesty and zany conversation. By the time I got home it was dark and my photo options were limited. I saw my book on the counter and thought about how much I am enjoying it, so it won as tonight's book. No this is not a book that our book clubber's have been reading. We have a list but I often tend to stray from the list. Not because the books aren't good but because I like to read a book when it really speaks to me. I saw this book at my parents house (my Dad hasn't even read it yet) and it literally jumped up and landed in my open hands. It spoke to me. So my Dad said, "Oh yeah, read it and I'll just read it when you are done". Awesome considering I tried to check it out at the library the day before and it was totally booked for ages.

I am really fascinated with all books / literature / shows that showcase the Navy Seals. I don't know why but I have read probably a dozen books about their training, covert ops and missions. I also read whatever I can about the current war in the Middle East. I am intrigued with the personal stories of the soldiers who literally have had to put their lives on hold to bravely fight for our country. The personal stories really help put things into perspective for me. So if there is anyone out there wilh this similar interest, I highly recommend you reading this book. I'm hoping to finish it this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.