Northern Exposure

By Northern

As sure as eggs is eggs.

Smithski has done a very nice pic of the inside of his fridge. Something that gives an idea of the inner workings of our lives, not to mention stomachs.

It so happened I had left a comment somewhere abut the amount of eggs in our fridge, which G demanded to see.

Some have been eaten since the last count, and new ones have arrived. But the total as it stands this afternoon is 44 eggs in total. 22 hen and 22 duck. I messed about with the colours in the pic (as frankly it was boring!) so you don't se the colours as they really are but basically the duck eggs are the light blue ones. Duck egg blue, not surprisingly.

The other thing I messed about with was putting the ones that were in the door of the fridge into boxes and rearranging those already in boxes to fit them all onto one shelf. Then I had to take all the stuff on the top shelf out of the fridge so that it wasn't too dark.

This is frankly a daft way to spend 15 minutes and not only did I have to undo all the shifting I had done but I was left with a problem. So that we can keep track of the freshest eggs we have a system (however anal it may be) of older eggs to the inside of the door and fresh to the outside. As we use/sell/give away eggs we move the others along. Basic but it works. But I mixed them all up doing my blip-arranging didn't I... AAARRRGGGHHH???!!!!!

Hopefully I got them all there or there abouts.

The ones that were easy to spot were the ones collected this morning. Mainly due to the fact that they hadn't been cleaned yet and still had mud (that's chicken shit under it's posh name) on them. See that one at the front. And while you're looking at that one check out the one behind it, the speckily one. It's enormous. Got to be a double yolker.

We mainly use the duck eggs for baking. Steven eats them but they taste too gamey for my liking, good in cakes though. We're going to hatch some out but we need to wait till we come back our hols as they need turning.

Hopefully we'll have some ducklings in May. Which will be much more blip worthy than eggs in a fridge.

Can't believe I spent so much time moving eggs around, thanks guys! Got my own back by writing so much drivel, you better read it... questions will be asked.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.