a town called E.

By Eej

Happy together

I read many, many articles and a book. I made a list. Made another list. I practised getting the camera on and off the tri-pod quickly. I charged batteries. Bought a 16gb memory card. Practised using the flash. Packed a camera bag, a back pack
and a handbag. Unpacked everything. Packed it again. Took Pepto-Bismol to soothe my stomach.

And I still wasn't prepared for everything that today would bring.

Did I have fun? Yes.
But only because the bride and groom are laid-back people and have a wonderful loving family :)
Have I learned something? Yes. Heaps. The most important thing is that low light isn't my friend. Unfortunately there was a LOT of it. The second most important thing: a. flash is not as scary as I thought, because b. a bounce card does wonders.

I'll be processing many, many photos in the next week while nursing my sore trigger hand :)


Harley-update: still improving. There is a lot more walking about and meeping going on. And she's still asking for food. The canned stuff. She has no immediate desire to start eating the dry food again. We'll give her until the vet gives her a clean bill of health and then it's back to normal for her :)

EDIT 7/14/2011:
Due to something I won't go into (but that has nothing to do with me, really) I had to change this photo. Unfortunately, since it's been past 5 days the only thing I can do is delete it and post a different photo. I wanted to save the comments that went with the other photo though :)



Oh fun! Must have been a long day, though. Great photo!
~ Cider12

It is a scary adventure. You want things to be so right for the bride and groom.
I bet you did a great job!!...and now it's done.....
sigh.....
~ cew

A wedding to photograph is a big deal! I'm sure the pictures will be awesome!
~ seniormoments

Congrats on completing your first wedding shoot! I'm sure all your photos were fantastic.

Good news on Harley!
~ KangaZu

what fun! you must be exhausted! if this shot is any indications, I'm sure you did a wonderful job :)
~ distractedhausfrau

Fun image, well done...
~ noone

way to go!!

ie dry food - best to stay away from it all together if you can. Nasty bad stuff.
~ BethanneElion

Great shot. A lot of fun I bet. Glad to hear Harley is getting better.
~ jerispics

Oh it looks great!!! The light makes it sort of old fashioned and nostalgic, love it!
~ anniescottage

This is beautiful! Well done, you!
~ Dotty

Ohhhh lady you clever thing...I have been asked to do a wedding next year... HELP :O
~ JaneW

Excellent. When I did my cousin's daughter's wedding I was just like your. JUST LIKE YOU! Did I have fun? YES, when

I got to the finale. Weddings are the scariest I would say! Love the way you treated this. It is so great that you stretched

yourself. My blip from Saturday was a big stretch for me. It feels good to try something new and push yourself a little. My

hubby told me....'I want you to see that you can do it, you need to be confident'. I just like to be able to breath, thank you!!!
~ tnahlyn

That's come out really well, you can sense the happiness.
~ MrSmith

Lovely image!

I know what you speak about when you mention low light, .. I had a bad experience once with that but only realized

afterwards. Luckily I was only a family member and not the photographer! Rather 'flash' it all the way!
Thanks for your kind comment about Mom's situation - she seems a bit better today!
~ Chiaroscuro

Very brave of you to take on the job of wedding photographer! I hope you got all the shots you wanted!
~ DavidP

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.