wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Gnarrrrrrrrghhhhhhhhh!

So I was supposed to graduate at the end of this semester. Supposed to end my 6 years at uni with a group of friends, all graduating together. Supposed to move on to new and exciting things. And guess what happened with my supp exam from two weeks ago. That core unit, the compulsory subject that must be passed for me to graduate. Yep. You got it. Fail.

This was a unit that 1/3 of the class either failed or got a supp for. If that's not a reflection on the teaching rather than the students, I'm not sure what is. I don't know how many failed this time, hopefully not as many, but there's been complete facebook silence on the relevant group. Not sure what that's a sign of.

I checked my results at work, yelled 'Bugger' when I saw the big word 'FAILURE', and everyone was very kind indeed. Consolatory back pats, cups of tea, sympathy and referred grumpiness. My grumpiness comes largely from the fact it's the last semester, and I've been really looking forward to just being done, to finishing with my friends. I've already added an extra year to my degree, and now it looks like it'll take me 6.5 years to complete a 5 year degree, still full time. There are options, I can try to massively overload this semester and beg to be allowed to do it by distance through another uni (closing date is Friday), try to find a uni that offers it as a distance summer school and not see the sun for another little while, or do it again next semester at my own uni. Despite the drawbacks of the other options, doing it again next semester is my least favourite option, not least because of way too much extra time it adds.

These things happen, there's no use moaning (too much) about it, might as well just work out what to do next. I thought I did alright this time around, thought I'd passed it, but apparently I still just don't get it. The best part is that I'd only need this subject if I were actually practising law, and I have no intention of ever doing that.

But now I will stop whinging and move on. Happy place. Butterflies and rainbows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.