Les parapluies d'Edimbourg

What a difference a day makes. Yesterday evening I was sitting in the Pleasance Courtyard in the sunshine, enjoying the ambience - today I've just sloshed home in the pouring rain through the new river that is running through Bruntsfield Links, realising that the showerproof coat is just that - showerproof. Poor tourists - the vendors of the instant plastic capes are doing a roaring trade.

It was impossible to keep the rain off the lens as I blipped at 'Radio Forth on the Fringe' - a compilation of various Fringe acts which now I'll have to go and look up in the programme. It was a good evening that whizzed by. 'Briefs' were good as were '4 Poofs and a Piano' and 'Axis of Awesome'. I could be bankrupt at this rate. I did take some pics of 4 Poofs, Ruby Wax and Free Run (very athletic) but the management frowned on this - well there was a sign saying 'Photography Absolutley (sic) Forbidden'. Androblip has messages as the page is loading, including 'I'm a photographer not a terrorist', so what should I have said? - other than 'I can spell "absolutely" '.

See here for the rain at the end of the show and another review by Sailfish.

The rest of the day had been quite peaceful, #3 son having left for 2 weeks at TA camp in Inverness just after 7. Now it's just me and Molly. I've never stayed here on my own for any length of time so this is a novelty. I'm moving forward 'the project' with a diary full of appointments and a visit to JL before the show. That meant I could have a pre-theatre meal at Cafe Marlayne, avoiding the ranks of Lothian and Borders Police, complete with dogs and horses, who were massing outside the pubs at the top of the Walk - apparently Hibs had been playing Sunderland. Scotland beat Ireland though!

I got home in time to see the fireworks display that ends the late Saturday Tattoo performance. I only get to see the high ones over the top of the opposite tenements. I blipped these too but they can wait - I may yet need 'an emergency firework blip' and there are 3 more Saturdays to go.

If it rains tomorrow, I'm hibernating, so Molly, look out you may be having another 5 seconds of fame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.