The second half of life..

By twigs

Comfortably numb

A busy day - again - but I did manage to take several small steps in the right directions which was good. I still need to take a number of larger steps though.

All it good time. It will happen.

Took some time out to watch the gulls and the people doing their things at the beach after work. Now I often think of gulls as beasts with precious few manners and little social conscience (Jonathan Livingstone Seagull being one notable exception!) Today however, the gulls easily outshone a number of the humans who were around.....

As I sat and watched the world go by a car roared up and screeched to a halt in the carpark. Coarse language pounded out of the car's speakers - loosely disguised as some sort of music - and then 4 young males tumbled from the vehicle hurling an equal amount more coarse language all around.

They spotted me with my camera down on the beach.

I tried to ignore them - I never even glanced their way. They started asking (shouting)......would I take their pictures? I ignored them. One of them sprinted over to where I was sitting peering through my viewfinder (still ignoring them and still avoiding looking their way) and thrust his face into the end of my lens. I jumped. Then another who had obviously ran around behind me leaped over my head to a sand dune ahead of me. I continued to ignore them.

They must have got bored with my non-response so made their way back to their car. They hurled more foul language towards passing cars, gave hand signs, nazi gestures and other signs to anyone who looked their way.

I'd had enough. I walked back to my car a little nervous of what might be thrown my way (literally and figuratively) and as I drove my car away I noticed one of them standing in full public view urinating.

Give me a crowd of manner-less seagulls lany day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.