Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Who's the Yellow Dude?

It finally stopped raining this afternoon, just about the time I finished working for the day. So, camera in hand. off I went in search of something blippable. I really wasn't haven't much luck ... until I saw this tiny little guy on the leaf of our weeping cherry tree! I snapped of a bunch of shots with the 200 zoom, but quickly realized that this was most definitely a macro moment. So, after some running back and forth, and fumbling with the macro ring, this is what I got! I have no idea what this little guy is, but he is certainly the most festive bug I've ever seen. I wonder if he's related to my blue-butted bug?

As I was snapping pictures, an unsuspecting fly landed on the same leaf as the Yellow Dude - I was certain I was about to witness one of those "life cycle" moments! The Yellow Dude slowly stalked the fly - moving one striped leg ever so slowly in front of the other. Then, just as I was sure he was going to pounce (or whatever Yellow Dudes do), the fly flitted away. Wonder if he knew how close he came to being dinner? I wasn't totally happy with the focus on the fly-caper shots, but they are amusing. Posted on Flickr if you're up for it...

Waiter, is that fly fresh?

Soooo close...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.