Capital adventures

By marchmont

The Pictures

No Festival or Fringing today instead the Dominion Cinema, Newbattle Terrace. It's a bit of an Edinburgh institution. It's a 'streamline moderne', late art deco building, still family owned, that was my local cinema when I was growing up - 60's thrillers and romantic comedies (before they became 'romcoms'). Of course then there was only one screen, now it's quadrupled.

It made me think of the other Edinburgh cinemas I've been in. The George in Portobello where we were taken to see 'Summer Holiday', the Playhouse for my first James Bond 'From Russia With Love', the New Victoria (later the Odeon, now closed and boarded up) for 'The Sound of Music' (twice), the ABC (now the Odeon, very confusing) for 'Towering Inferno' when it was still a one screen venue and the effect of that film high up in the balcony was amazing. The other thing I remember about the ABC is that the Beatles played there and I have a memory of being in a bus crossing that intersection and the shops and banks on the corners all boarded up against the crowds. Then there was 'Swiss Family Robinson' at the Gaumont, 'Annie Hall' at the Cameo and films at both the Caley and the Jacey News Theatre. Nowadays when I go to the cinema it's the Cameo, the Filmhouse and occasionally Cineworld at Fountain Park but I'm not a fan of these big multiscreens - too much popcorn and coke.

When we lived up north we frequented another 30's cinema, the Victoria and went to the last show before it closed in 1998. It was famous because 'the balcony' was about 2 steps higher than the rest of the auditorium and the girl who sold the tickets doubled as the ice cream seller and would be down at the front in the middle of the film. Happy days. #2 son worked there when it was the Oscars niughtclub - now it's a J.D. Weatherspoons.

I was in Morningside on my way to see my parents via the Bethany Charity shop. I went to see a bit of furniture I'd glimpsed from a bus. Ended up buying a photo frame, for wedding photos.

Other things today - clarification from HMRC, yes they will deduct the 27p they owe me from the money I owe them (us?), more work on the Project, catching up on the equivalent of 2 and a half weeks backblipping, oh and an unwelcome contact.

Now to the BBC i-player and a catch up of 'The Hour'. Hope I remember the thread.

Edit - not 'doing' newspapers in any format I didn't realise until I read John's comment that Derek Cameron who was 'Mr Dominion' died last week. Sad news as he was only 77. His memorial service and funeral is tomorrow, 19th August, so it seems apt that I blipped this today to mark, albeit unknowingly, the passing of someone who was well known to the patrons of the Dominion over many years. The announcement says For over 50 years Derek was the welcoming, genial and ever smiling proprietor of the Dominion Cinema.. Like many others I remember him meeting you at the front door, impeccably dressed and there to ensure that everything ran smoothly and that you enjoyed yourself. When we went there alone as young teenagers it was friendly, comfortable and safe. In many ways the Victoria in Inverurie was similar. Family owned by the Donalds, family oriented, the annual primary schools Christmas film and a bit quirky. The manager there also met you at the front door, also impeccably dressed and his wife (who made great tablet) helped in the Box Office.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.