Northern Exposure

By Northern

Evening activity

Ruairidh talked me into taking part in the cycle club time trial this evening. I decided I might as well take my bike along and at least go out on the route instead of sitting watching everyone else come and go. Of course when I got there I thought I might as well see how fast I could do the 5 mile route .

I did better than I thought I would - I think it was just under 24 minute but I can't mind the exact number. Ru improved his time since last week, even though he was on his Dad's road bike for only the second time and seems to have done most of the route in a silly gear.

Have to say that it was hard work but probably good for me. I've got used to riding at a steady level which I can keep up over a longer distance so it was a bit of a challenge to be getting the lungs working harder over a shorter distance. I even managed to not stop to take a puff of my inhaler until after the finish line so that has to be good.

On the way back we spotted Steven and Campbell fishing off the barriers so ended the day with a relaxing 20 minutes or so watching the sun head for the horizon and the fisherman throwing lines into the still waters of Scapa Flow.


N.B. The thing that looks a bit like a shark fin is actually a bit of blockship.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.