SomeGuyInNJ

By SomeGuyInNJ

Setting out my stall

Well today I had my first go at selling my work at a local farms community sale. Turnout was bad, a lot of the local roads were closed due to flooding yesterday, so perhaps people thought that either they wouldnt be able to get there or that the field would be muddy (actually the field wasnt wet). Many people that did show up were still spending money on flood damage from our last two bouts of flooding, I guess when your house has been flooded you probably arent likely to spend your money on a picture for the wall.

I got a lot of interest in the form of compliments on my photos but not a lot in the way of sales but in relative terms I didnt do bad, several of the vendors in the tent actually sold nothing at all.

As a first time it certainly wasnt a waste of time. Over the course of setting up and trying things out in the day I found out a lot about how to get setup and how to display etc. So that will make things easier next time I try this somewhere else. I will probably be selling at a local market in our town on Thursday. Hopefully that will have more people in a buying mood.

Those who have been following my journal might well recognise several of the shots here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.